New User? Sign Up  |  Sign In  |  Help
AskPokerQuestions.com - Join us and ask poker questions or answer some questions or even just read through the site and hear what people have to say about the great game of poker.
Ask a Poker Question.
Answer Poker Questions.
Find Poker Answers.
     
Search for quesitons :
My Poker Profile

montie

Open Poker Questions Bookmark and Share

when i type in pokerstars why is there an FBI warning?

IT says for persons engaged in the business of betting or wagering,it is also a federal crime to knowingly accept in connection with the participation of another person in unlawful internet gambling,credit electronic fund transfers or checks.(31 u.s.c. 5363 & 5366.If gambling online was legal then why would the F B I put this there.

Posted 395 day ago

    Report Abuse
   Find Interesting  
   Email to Friends  
   Bookmark  
   Subscribe to Answer Alert  
Answers (5)

Davidov
The FBI has shut down PokerStars, Full Tilt Poker, and some smaller sites.

They were allegedly involved in fraud - specifically either using false information to get money through banks to fund on-line gambling, which is illegal in the United States, or bribing some banking institutions to allow poker transactions from US customers.

Whether or not this should be illegal is another question, but this is the explanation of why those sites have been shut down.

Posted 395 day ago

( 0 )
( 0 )
   Report Abuse


franco
because if you live in the US online poker is illegal

Posted 395 day ago

( 0 )
( 0 )
   Report Abuse


Davido
got to www.pokerstars.eu if you want.

Posted 395 day ago

( 0 )
( 0 )
   Report Abuse


fullhouse
the FBI has been cracking down on online gambling

Posted 395 day ago

( 0 )
( 0 )
   Report Abuse


jamsey
US government decided to declare that online poker illegal and prohibited such a business in the United States (they did this in 2006). They sized at least 5 domain names used by biggest poker companies (pokerstars, fulltiltpoker, ultimatebet and absolute poker). New domain for Pokerstars.com is pokerstars.eu, but if you are from US, you will not be able to play real money games, only play money. For all other countries the business is as usual.

Posted 395 day ago

( 0 )
( 0 )
   Report Abuse

Edit your answer. Click save, when done.
Question Title when i type in pokerstars why is there an FBI warning?
Your Answer
Character Count ( Max. - 5000 ) : 339
Email this poker question link to friends
You must enter email-address, if name is entered and vice-versa for each friend.
Friend #1 -
Friend #2 -
Friend #3 -
Friend #4 -
Friend #5 -